IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wait command not working in triggers.
Guest_cybern8r_*
post Aug 7 2003, 08:03 PM
Post #1





Guests






I have a trigger set that when I get type a certain thing, it waits 1 second, and then executes a game command. This is the trigger I used.

##wait 1 look

But, it won't work. The client interprates the wait command as a regular game command, and because of that, doesn't wait 1 second before doing the real game command. However, when I manually type something like;

##wait 1 look

it waits 1 second before executing the look command, like it's supposed to. Is it that the wait local command can't be used in triggers or something, or did I just do it wrong?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Day
post Aug 8 2003, 12:09 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 2-May 03
From: Austin, Texas, damnit.
Member No.: 5



How are you triggering the command?


->Day<-
---------------------------
"I am the Walrus."
-John Lennon


--------------------
->Day<-
Doom-sayer and Pessimist, Extraordinaire

http://www.texastrombones.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Guest_*
post Aug 8 2003, 04:46 AM
Post #3





Guests






Well, I'm currently working on a dummy trigger just to try and get the command to work. It's an input trigger that when I type "test", it wait's 1 second, and executes the command "gl'. The exact syntax is;

##wait 1 gl

but the ##wait part is interpreted as a game command, which obviously doesn't work, and it tries to do gl, but because of the faulty ##wait 1 part that gives me an error in the game, it screws the whole line up. If ##wait didn't work at all, I would think I just have the wrong syntax or something, but it works when I type it manually and not use a trigger, so I don't know what's wrong.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Day
post Aug 9 2003, 12:15 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 2-May 03
From: Austin, Texas, damnit.
Member No.: 5



Dunno what to say. I've not used triggers for input, as I know enough softcode to store my little short-cut macros remotely. I do have a ##task in my "do upon connect" bit for all my PennMUSHes. It's worked every time. All I can say is check for typos (doubt you have any) and make sure, in World Preferences, that the command-prefix is set as ## (which would seem to be the case if typing that in manulally works). Bleh. Maybe Jay can help.


->Day<-
------------------------
"It really tied the room together, did it not?"
-The Big Lebowski


--------------------
->Day<-
Doom-sayer and Pessimist, Extraordinaire

http://www.texastrombones.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_cybern8r_*
post Aug 9 2003, 03:37 AM
Post #5





Guests






Okay, I just found something out. I tried a bunch of different MUVEs, and the trigger worked with all the others, but with the one I play(Aetolia), something happens. When I type "test", I get the message "I don't understand"., obviously because the game doesn't understand the command "test". But, if I hit enter after that, then it performs the action that it's supposed to wait 1 second to do. It's kind of hard to explain, so I'll show you what I mean.

The trigger(named test): ##wait 1 outb 1 kelp

This means it waits 1 second, then takes 1 kelp out of my pocketbelt.

I type: test
I get: I don't understand.
I wait 1 second, which is how long the wait command is supposed to wait, the I just hit enter.
I get: You take 1 kelp out of your pocketbelt.

This kind of makes me think it's just the MUD that makes it not work, because it works fine with other MUDs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_cybern8r_*
post Aug 9 2003, 03:50 AM
Post #6





Guests






I forgot to mention something. When I manually type ##wait 1 blah blah blah, it waits 1 second, then does the command, but it just displays it in the output pane, and I have to hit enter before it actually executes the command, like with the triggers. So, I guess the only difference between manually typing it in and using a trigger is that when I manually type it the command that's supposed to be executed shows up in the output pane like I typed it and it echoed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Day
post Aug 9 2003, 06:03 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 2-May 03
From: Austin, Texas, damnit.
Member No.: 5



Sounds ot me like you need to gag the trigger so that it doesn't get sent to the game. Try that out. Take a look, as an example, at the 'greet $$name' trigger which is in the default settings when you first fire Sav up.


->Day<-
----------------------
"A navy diver is NOT a fighting man. He is a salvage expert."
-Men of Honor


--------------------
->Day<-
Doom-sayer and Pessimist, Extraordinaire

http://www.texastrombones.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Guest_*
post Aug 10 2003, 03:57 AM
Post #8





Guests






Nope, didn't help. It executes the command fine, but I still have to hit enter before it actually does the command. Is this happening to anyone else?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jay
post Aug 14 2003, 02:35 PM
Post #9


Administrator
***

Group: Admin
Posts: 168
Joined: 2-May 03
From: New Hampshire
Member No.: 1



Is the 'Keep command selected after sending it' checkbox selected in your world's 'Input' settings pane? If so, turn that off.

/Jay
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_cybern8r_*
post Aug 14 2003, 07:17 PM
Post #10





Guests






No, it's turned off. Do you think it's just the MUD that's messing it up?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
netracerx
post Sep 12 2004, 06:04 AM
Post #11


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-September 04
Member No.: 52



i have a question about this. i've been using savitar for a little bit and want to keep using it, but this wait command problem really is a problem. i have a similar setup, trying to use it as part of a trigger by doing:

##wait 1 arma

to cast armageddon, a spell, in a mud i play. i've even tried it on the command line and it does not work properly. it displays it in the output window as if it's sent it, but it's only when i hit return does it actually send the command. and it doesn't matter whether the input box is empty or has a command sitting in it, the command does not execute. the mud gets jibberish essentially, a command it doesn't know what to do with. my question is, are you clearing the program's input buffer before and after executing the trigger and/or the local command? and also, can you add the option to have the input buffer cleared at so many interval, down to millisecond units at least for debugging purposes? that might help some. thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
netracerx
post Sep 12 2004, 06:11 AM
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-September 04
Member No.: 52



also, i've noticed that if you let the program sit for a while, even if you haven't added any new commands the input buffer seems to flush itself and the next local wait command works properly. then the followup wait command does not work. if i make a trig that does not use the wait command, it works without fail.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Guest_guest_*
post Mar 7 2006, 05:14 PM
Post #13





Guests






bump

This is not working even in the newer versions.
In a trigger I have the following:
##wait 10 wk
##wait 11 st
##wait 12 sp

Now unless I hit enter between 10 and 11 seconds then again between 11 and 12 seconds I end up with wkstsp as the command that goes through only after I hit enter.
Keep command selected after sending it is off not sure whats going on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kaleisha
post May 9 2006, 11:46 PM
Post #14


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 10-December 04
Member No.: 62



I just read this and thought I'd try it and see what happens. I set up a trigger to do

##wait 10 bw
##wait 14 ponder
##wait 18 shrug

on seeing the word 'test'

In my own mud which is a custom code base I then said 'test' and the trigger fired with the appropiate timing on each command

So I logged into aetolia to see if I could replicate the problems there, It's working fine as it should with the right delays

I set the test trigger to input and while I got the I cannot fathom your meaning message from the game being confused about test, the rest of the trigger still fired as it should with the right timing. I'm wondering if the mud you're playing isn't picking up on the enter between each line? you could try setting it up with double returns in the trigger and see if that helps seperate them? like this I always put in an enter after my last command in the trigger too, perhaps that is it

##wait 10 bw

##wait 14 ponder

##wait 18 shrug


I've got logins in about 6 different muds, all various codebases and I wasn't able to botch my trigger up to replicate the problem you're having, whhat kind of codebase is the mud you play?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th May 2024 - 10:46 AM